Thursday, July 06, 2006

Ballot set for Aug. 8 primary, voter deadline nearing

Monday is the deadline to register to vote in the August 8th primary election.
Here's a list of the candidates all qualified voters in Lenawee County have to choose from.

U.S. Senate
Republican ticket
Keith Butler of Lathrup Village
Michael Bouchard of Royal Oak

Incumbent U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow is running unopposed on the Democratic ticket.

7th District Congressional primary
Republican ticket
Joe Schwarz, incumbent
Tim Walberg

Democratic ticket
Daryl Campbell
Chuck Ream
Sharon Renier
Fred Strack

57th District House seat (all of Lenawee County except Cambridge Township)
Rep. Dudley Spade, D-Tipton, and Republican challenger Jim Koehn of Adrian are running uncontested. They'll face off in the November general election.

65th District House seat (parts of Jackson County and Cambridge Township)
Rep. Leslie Mortimer, R-Horton, faces previous Democratic challenger Mike Simpson of Jackson.

16th Senate District
Sen. Cameron Brown, R-Fawn River Twp., faces Democrat Christiner Timothy of Sturgis this fall. No primary in this race.

Voters must vote a straight party ticket.
In 2004, former Adrian Mayor Jim Berryman urged Democrats to vote for Republican then-state senator Joe Schwarz in order to keep more conservative out of congress.
Now a Michigan Education Association union rep, Berryman has continued his support for Schwarz since the Battle Creek physician was elected in 2004.
"You don't hear the typical political rhetoric from him, he really says something. You didn't see a lot of political tap dancing on the issues," Berryman said almost a year ago following Schwarz's speech to the Lenawee County Chamber of Commerce Economic Club luncheon.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Who links to me?